Sunrise Sunrise

I saw the sunrising this morning. I was laying in my bed, awake. I looked at my window next to me. I looked away then back. I moved the curtain aside and to see that the sky was orange. I grabbed my phone, my keys, I put on my shoes, then walked out the door. There was a huge thunderstorm the night before, so the earth was still dripping. The bugs were chirping so loudly, it was beautiful. I finally looked up and the sky…the sky was violet

My eyes filled with wonder. I continued admiring the vast beyond. I began to walk, not looking down but up. As I walked toward the sunrise side the colors changed 

Instead of violet and blue, there was pink, red, yellow. I stopped walking for a bit and kind of stood watching the rising sun reflect its light on the majestic clouds. None of this looked real. I felt as if I were in an art gallery admiring a painting of morning. But this wasn’t artificial, it was raw, intrinsic. This is God. This is a part of Him.

I walked back home still appreciating morn. I didn’t go inside. I just sat down listening to nature. Listening to the drip and the drop of rain onto puddles. The clicking, the hissing, and the chirping of bugs. In that moment I wanted to be one with nature. I wanted to be a majestic cloud. I wanted to be part of the trees and grass. One day I will be.

Leave a Reply

