A Letter to My Mom (my parents don’t read my blog…so I can do this)

WARNING: If you are a male this might make you uncomfortable!

Dear Mom,
What am I doing wrong??? I’m a good kid. I get average grades, I don’t do drugs or party. I read my Bible. I believe in God. I have lots of things to say, but it’ll come out rude so that’s why I’m writing this letter. Okay. Here I go. Will you please stop belittling me? Yes, I know I’m fifteen, but what does that have to do with what you are talking about. I understand what you are saying. I understand what’s going on. Mom, can you please give me a little freedom? I feel like I’m living in a box and I can’t get out. That’s why I do little things to make me feel free. Like dying the ends of my hair or not wearing bras. Speaking of bras… Mom, one of the reasons why I stopped wearing bras was because you’d always get me the wrong size… Yeah. I l know you get really upset that I don’t wear them. Instead of getting mad, can you please give me a reason why I can’t wear them. I know how to cover everything up without using a bra. (Side note: Today my mom was talking to me and she was like: “Hannah, I always tell you to wear a bra, but you never listen to me.” She was so mad! It’s just a bra. Then she whooped me for wearing a tank top with no bra on at home. Seriously). Another reason why I don’t wear them is because I don’t want my boobs to be saggy! (Sorry guys). Mom I feel like every little thing I do, you get angry. Why can’t you be more supportive? Also can you give me a reason why I can’t do certain things, instead of forcing me not to do them. Can you please stop saying you’re going to do something, but never do it? I asked for ballet lessons for a whole year. A whole year! You’d keep saying, okay. But it never happened. Then you started to get annoyed that I was asking. I feel controlled. I know you are my mom and you are supposed to be a little controlling. But why do I have to feel this way, like I’m constrained. Sometimes I feel like you are Margaret White in Carrie and I’m Carrie. (Not crazy, though. We’re pretty sane). I just want some freedom, mom. That’s all I want… You are a good mother, though. You take care of me when I’m sick, you take me to school. You did other good stuff that makes me love you. I do know sometimes I can be a little disrespectful, but honestly I have been working on that and I think I’ve gotten better. So yeah… I love you and I just wanted to be honest.

Love,
Hannah M. Leonard

Leave a Reply

