Courage in Vulnerability

I thought this was very interesting, this post really spoke to me.

(This is also from my sister’s blog, you should follow it).

Esther Yvette

vulnerability1

I need to learn how to be vulnerable.

I realize that I’m afraid to show all of me. I have a fear of showing some of my weaknesses or sharing some of my desires. I’ve learned to hold things in, toughen up and handle things by myself.

Overall, I’m an assertive person, well at least I think I am. I let people know my feelings and concerns. However, it’s hard for me to share my whole self.

I’m reading Brené Brown’s book, “The Gifts of Imperfection” and she talks about how becoming vulnerable makes us courageous, compassionate and connected. That it takes courage to let people see your imperfections, flaws, your inner most desires and even your power. Courage in vulnerability brings connection with someone who then can relate in the midst of compassion.

Here is a perfect, simple and funny example, in which I didn’t allow myself to…

View original post 750 more words

Leave a Reply

